You want me to do what? A 16.4 story

The other night Cross Fit HQ posted 16.4 and rarely have I ever seen a work out that made so many athletes question their own mental and physical prowess at the thought of tackling the workout. For the record so far I haven’t attempted 16.4 but I did interview someone to give me some insight for any warriors that aren’t interested in following crossfit but still enjoy testing their limits:
13minute As many reps as possible –
55 Deadlift 225/155 lbs.
55 WallBall Shots 20/14 lbs
55 Calorie Row
55 Handstand Push-ups

The shear volume of 16.4 was plainly hard to conceive. After asking an elite athlete and a few bro-scientists the message was clear: you weren’t going to score beyond 220 reps w/o scaling and still having a plan; short of being some type of pure blooded freak beast.

From advice I did receive from a more experienced lifter made this suggestion to break up the workout
DLs: 10 – 10 – 10 – 5 – 3 – 3 – 5 – 5 – 4
The wall balls: 15 – 8 – 8 – 8 – 8 – 8
The row wasn’t bad only the time remaining after 55 cal of left the time around 12:50, leaving time for 2 HSPU.
This gave me a lot of insight on how to improve my training , and additionally is ever doing 55 deadlifts @225lbs. something important to my training.

Author: The Savage Scientist

Often high energy, thanks to coffee, I'm just a guy who filled most of his skill tree with points in wisdom(research), strength (athletics), dexterity (combat), and eating. If you haven't figured it out or stumbled on this blog by recommendation. My attempt with this blog is to explore ideas that begin under the umbrella of seeking enlightenment and personal development through: the traditional arts, sciences, and philosophies; along with arguably life's greatest teacher, the savage sciences of combat sports. Join me as we find out what we can learn together!

Leave a Reply

