Don’t try this at home!

“I can accept failure. Everyone fails at something. But, I can’t accept not trying.”
– Michael Jordan

I have to admit I possess a strange compulsion where I am overcome with extreme anxiety if I haven’t pursued something outside of my comfort zone. As many readers that have taken the step off that ledge may know: it is by fat the most terrifying and addicting thing you can do for yourself. So, allow me to play back a recent series of events to explain the title and offer a twist to why the work out I completed is effective for my on going ninja training…
So the only time you shouldn’t train is very simple when you’re injured, sleep deprived, or under the influence. I was 2 of the 3 and decided to rationalize it away the true reason: I was feeling emboldened after socializing at a bar/club on Friday night and watched one of my favorite bands perform. But, I was feeling really guilty that I missed my afternoon workout and have been skimping on the cardio work.
So I decide it being 3a.m. was good enough time to get my really sweet workout in that involved grip endurance (needs improvement), core strength and flexion, and a technical lift (the snatch was chosen, not at random) so instead of the high rep work out I suggested to a friend; I considered the short/nonexistent rest intervals the NWT (Ninja Warrior Trial) offer so AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) it is! And, try not to die given condition at the time. Spoiler alert I survived and it certainly showed how difficult this is going to be at my current weight. I believe more grip work, sprinting, and jumps are coming

But, even though I didn’t do nearly as well as I would hoped; that’s why this is training. Not, brag about how sweet you used to be and let powerful Nostalgia undeservedly carry your ego.

9minute AMRAP
15 T2Bs
10 Deadlifts 48kg
5 Squat Snatch 48kg

 

Author: The Savage Scientist

Often high energy, thanks to coffee, I'm just a guy who filled most of his skill tree with points in wisdom(research), strength (athletics), dexterity (combat), and eating. If you haven't figured it out or stumbled on this blog by recommendation. My attempt with this blog is to explore ideas that begin under the umbrella of seeking enlightenment and personal development through: the traditional arts, sciences, and philosophies; along with arguably life's greatest teacher, the savage sciences of combat sports. Join me as we find out what we can learn together!

Leave a Reply

