Road to becoming a Ninja warrior pt 2

As a friend of mine once said, “If the first one was too easy.”

I generally enjoy thinking of my week in terms of how many yoga sessions, magic tournaments, and cups of coffee can I squeeze into 168 hours. Lost? Confused yet? Where’s my mediocre work out I’m going to have to scale? You might be asking yourself; don’t worry I’m trying to channel a much more talented writer, dare say friend (Mark Nestico), to consider why this work out was important enough to write about.
The point is as much like the half-moon position I held during yoga class today it takes a lot of steps before you begin to understand balance. So, to myriad of concessions I make so I can balance a happy and well lived life… that also coincides with my goal of not completely failing at a ninja warrior trial; or at least while knowing 23% percent of my week is literally just sitting at a computer working (granted I do have a kneeling chair); that percentage is not even considering how much time I’m commuting, eating (editor’s note a lot), and most notably when not at the gym (hopefully not cycling) at a table playing MTG (Magic the Gathering).

So yeah there’s a common theme on my mind is: Wow I have weak ass hip flexors and over-tightened hamstrings! If you didn’t share in that same thought, translation, I sit a lot; and that’s affecting my ability to sprint and jump in cartoonish fashion. And, wanted to put a few words to paper to bring this to other readers attention if you share in the same lifestyle choice. To remedy that I’m hipster enough to go to yoga 3 times a week; take up every opportunity to catch up with people for coffee (often its a walking meeting); and being mindful how much grinding am I doing for MTG. 2 positives and being aware of a negative that I don’t intend on giving up to the goal, or balance if you will. Just a thought to entertain before the WOD
Yoga +
4 ROUNDS:
20 Goblet Squat 1.5POODs
20 Threaded Lunges 1.5POODs
15 Overhead Squat 47kg
5 Turkish Get-ups .5POODs
25 Kettlebell Swings 1.5POODs

Author: The Savage Scientist

Often high energy, thanks to coffee, I'm just a guy who filled most of his skill tree with points in wisdom(research), strength (athletics), dexterity (combat), and eating. If you haven't figured it out or stumbled on this blog by recommendation. My attempt with this blog is to explore ideas that begin under the umbrella of seeking enlightenment and personal development through: the traditional arts, sciences, and philosophies; along with arguably life's greatest teacher, the savage sciences of combat sports. Join me as we find out what we can learn together!

Leave a Reply

